• An illustration of a high-heeled foot on a staircase laden with risk: a spilled bloody mary, a river, a mouse trap. Bright green background.

Five Ways to Die

June 27, 2024 at 6:30 pm
Friday June 28, 2024 at 6:30 pm
Saturday June 29, 2024 at 6:30 pm
Sunday June 30, 2024 at 2:00 pm

Five Ways to Die is a world premiere opera written and composed by artists in Experiments in Opera’s critically-acclaimed Writers’ Room, a regularly-occurring program for composers and librettists that Experiments in Opera began in 2019. The Writers’ Room challenges the precedent of single authorship and embraces a model where multiple composers and librettists create a large-scale work that embodies the spirit of an inclusive and collaborative community. Prior Writers’ Room works include Sisyphus (2017), Aqua Net & Funyuns (2020) and Everything For Dawn (2022). Five Ways will feature a chamber ensemble of five musicians, a cast of six singers and maximalist aesthetics to investigate poison, plague, and magical portals, and of course, death.

Water Prayer
Libretto Marcella Murray
Composition Seong Ae Kim

Valhalla Valley Mall
Libretto & Composition Jason Cady

Libretto Britt Hewitt
Composition Jesse Gelaznik

Serials Killers and The City
Libretto Joanie Brittingham
Composition Del’Shawn Taylor

Alize Rozsnyai, soprano
Rose Hegele, soprano
Melisa Bonetti Luna, mezzo-soprano
Lisa Neher, mezzo-soprano
Kannan Vasudevan, tenor

Seth Gilman, baritone

Clarinet/bass clarinet: Eileen Mack
Electric guitar: James Moore
Acoustic/Electric bass: Tristan Kastin-Krause
Vibraphone/Percussion: Joe Bergen
Drumset: Matt Evans

Conductor: Dmitry Glivinskiy
Stage Direction: Shannon Sindelar